Recap of Chapter #8:

I slowly but steadily made my way up the gutter, and I landed on the window ledge. I kept one hand on the gutter, just in case I fell and/or lost my balance. I used my other hand to lift open the window. Once it was open, I slipped inside, and quickly closed the window behind me. “Thank goodness… I made it inside!” 

 

Chapter #9: Time To Cook
“The New Kid of South Park”

Now that I was inside, I looked around my room, noticing that everything was in the exact same place as it were before I left. I nodded to myself in confirmation and exited my room, closing the door behind me and heading downstairs.

Once downstairs, I unlocked the front door, and grabbed the grocery bags that I had left on the front porch. I closed the door behind me and promptly locked it. Then, I started to head into the kitchen. I noticed that my dad was asleep on the sofa, a pillow clutched in his hand. “He must have fallen asleep while putting everything away…” I thought to myself. I gently grabbed the pillow from his hand, and placed it underneath his head. I also grabbed a nearby blanket and placed it over him. I then checked the time on my phone. 5:30 PM. Just enough time for me to cook dinner and prepare everything. “I’ll wake up Dad at 6:30 for him to get ready.” I then headed into the kitchen, to work on dinner.

~Time Skip~

It was now 6:25 PM, and I had finally finished cooking dinner. I had just finished setting up the table. There was a large platter in the middle with the meatloaf on it. There was a big serving bowl of mashed potatoes. Three little bowls; one filled with corn, another filled with green beans, and the last filled with mandarin orange slices. I had even set plates, bowls, and silverware at each spot at the table. I looked at my work, feeling very accomplished.

“Now, it’s time to wake up Dad!” I thought to myself. I headed back into the living room, and walked over to my Dad. I gently shook him awake. He opened his eyes and smiled at me.

“Hey, Minah. What time is it?” I pointed at the clock hanging on the nearby wall. “Oh, it’s 6:30. Thanks, chickadee, for waking me up.” I nodded in response and he got up. “Something smells good. Did you already cook dinner?” I nodded my head, signaling a “yes.” He chuckled.

“Sorry that I fell asleep. I could’ve helped you cook. Anyway, we should probably get ready for the neighbors to come over, huh? Go upstairs and get dressed in something nice. Okay, chickadee?” I nodded, gave Dad a hug, and headed upstairs to get dressed in something a bit nicer.